Within the ‘General’ tab there is a check box to make a patient inactive ‘Inactive Patient’.
I would recommend when the uses selects this function the documents in that patients ‘documents’ center be zipped up to one file. Old files will be removed so only the recently zip file will remain in its place.
If a user needs to activate that patient again (by removing the check in the ‘inactive patient’ check box), the zip file will automatically unzip the file to its original location and the user will see all the documents in the document center. The same process will uses to clean up the zip file once the documents have been restored for the user to see.
This process and be completed on an individual basis or within the ‘User Preferences’ the user could enter criteria based on the last date of service and a job could run to automatically inactivate patients (yes placing a check in the check box automatically) based on the criteria a user selects…let’s say the patient has not been active in 1000 days (of any time period the user enters).
Why is this needed…because it will significantly reduce storage space and it’s the correct way to archive documents.
We appreciate the feedback.
Janette Whittington (Certified Trainer) commented
Agree that the ability to condense a patient's chart would be beneficial for our larger group practices.